The Football Writers Association of America has announced the candidates on the Outland Trophy Watch List and the Crimson Tide has two players representing the Tide. The Outland trophy has been given out since 1946 to recognize the top interior lineman in college football.

Alabama has had six players in its history win the Outland Trophy, Chris Samuels in 1999, Andre Smith in 2008, Barrett Jones in 2011, Cam Robinson in 2016, Quinnen Williams in 2018 and Alex Leatherwood 2020.

Senior defensive lineman Phidarian Mathis and junior offensive lineman Evan Neal represent the Crimson Tide on the 2021 Outland Trophy Watch List.

Neal has been a consistent contributor on the offensive line. He's started every game for the Tide since his freshman year in 2019. Neal only missed six assignments on 810 snaps last season as a member of the Joe Moore Offensive Line of the Year. Neal only allowed four quarterbacks hurries and three pressures in 2020.

Mathis tallied 31 tackles in 2020 with five for a loss and 1.5 sacks. He saw more playing time this season following an elbow injury to Labryan Ray. Mathis was selected as defensive player of the week by the Alabama coaching staff for his performance against Mississippi State. He is was also named on the Nagurski Watch List, given to the nation's top defensive player.

PHOTOS: Alabama Celebrates #18

Alabama Non Con Opponents

The 2021 Alabama Football Schedule in Photos

SEC Mascots


More From 95.3 The Bear