Contact Us

Three Alabama Players Named to Nagurski Watch List

Landon Collins
Landon Collins among three Alabama players named to the Nagurski watch list. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

The Pac-12 Conference led all leagues with 18 players on the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, with Oregon, Stanford, USC and Washington supplying the majority from that conference.

The four other power conferences – ACC, Big 12, Big Ten and SEC – all had double-digit players on the 81-man list. Eight of the 10 NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conferences are represented on the list unveiled by the Football Writers Association of America.

Twelve schools had at least three players on the list – Stanford (4), Washington (4), Alabama, Clemson, Georgia, Michigan, Michigan State, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, TCU and USC.

There are no returning first-team defensive FWAA All-America players from last season, but three 2013 second-teamers are on the 2014 Nagurski Watch List: end Vic Beasley, Clemson; back Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon; and end Ryan Mueller, Kansas State.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 8 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by Florida East Coast Railway. Maryland’s Randy White, a member of the FWAA’s 1974 All-America team and a College Football Hall of Famer, will be honored. Alabama head coach Nick Saban will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.


Henry Anderson, Stanford, DE
Stephone Anthony, Clemson, LB
Vic Beasley, Clemson, DE
Michael Bennett, Ohio State, DT
Craig Bills, BYU, DB
Joey Bosa, Ohio State, DE
Kelby Brown, Duke, LB
Malcom Brown, Texas, DT
Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State, DE
Alex Carter, Stanford, DB
Sam Carter, TCU, DB
Jeremy Cash, Duke, DB
Frank Clark, Michigan, DE
Landon Collins, Alabama, DB
Blake Countess, Michigan, DB
Christian Covington, Rice, DT
Su’a Cravens, USC, DB
Carl Davis, Iowa, DT
Tyeler Davison, Fresno State, DE
Trey DePriest, Alabama, LB
Quandre Diggs, Texas, DB
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, DB
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, DB
Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, DE
Mario Edwards Jr., Florida State, DE
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, DB
Kyler Fackrell, Utah State, LB
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE
Trey Flowers, Arkansas, DE
Leonard Floyd, Georgia, LB
Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, DE
Alani Fua, BYU, LB
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, DB
Markus Golden, Missouri, DE
Randy Gregory, Nebraska, DE
Bryce Hager, Baylor, LB
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, DB
Anthony Harris, Virginia, DB
Ben Heeney, Kansas, LB
Chucky Hunter, TCU, DT
Martin Ifedi, Memphis, DE
Myles Jack, UCLA, LB
Grady Jarrett, Clemson, DT
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia, LB
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, LB
Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB
Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington, DE
Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech, DT
Derrick Malone, Oregon, LB
Tyler Matakevich, Temple, LB
Derrick Mathews, Houston, LB
Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville, DE
Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State, LB
Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, DE
Steven Nelson, Oregon State, DB
Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, DT
Shawn Oakman, Baylor, DE
Denzel Perryman, Miami, LB
Marcus Peters, Washington, DB
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, DB
Hayes Pullard, USC, LB
Cedric Reed, Texas, DE
Jordan Richards, Stanford, DB
A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama, DE
KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame, DB
Jake Ryan, Michigan, LB
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, DB
Danny Shelton, Washington, DT
Derron Smith, Fresno State, DB
Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame, LB
Eric Striker, Oklahoma, LB
Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, DE
A.J. Tarpley, Stanford, LB
Jared Tevis, Arizona, DB
Shaq Thompson, Washington, LB
Tony Washington, Oregon, DE
Trae Waynes, Michigan State, DB
P.J. Williams, Florida State, DB
Leonard Williams, USC, DE
Ramik Wilson, Georgia, LB
Gabe Wright, Auburn, DT
By conference: Pac-12 18, SEC 16, Big 12 13, ACC 12, Big Ten 10, American Athletic 4, Independents 4, Mountain West 3, Conference USA 1.

By position: Tackles 10, Ends 23, Linebackers 24, Backs 24.

Best of 95.3 the Bear

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Bear VIP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Bear VIP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.