Contact Us

2013 Independent Spirit Awards Winners: ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ Wins Everything

Silver Linings Playbook Independent Spirit Awards
Weinstein Co.

David O. Russell’s ‘Silver Linings Playbook‘ was the big winner at this year’s Independent Spirit Awards, taking home four awards including Best Feature. Of course, the debate asking why a mainstream, star-studded box office smash beat out the actual indie fare at the Independent Spirit Awards, but that’s a conversation for another time. Check out the rest of winners below!

In addition to Best Feature, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ took home Best Director (David O. Russell), Best Screenplay (Russell, again) and Best Actress (Jennifer Lawrence, in a nice warm-up for her all-but-guaranteed Oscar win tomorrow). The other big winners include John Hawkes and Helen Hunt winning Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress respectively for ‘The Sessions‘ and Matthew McConaughey winning Best Supporting Actor for ‘Magic Mike.’

Of course, plenty of smaller films shared the spotlight with the heavies. The Best First Feature award went to Stephen Chbosky for ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower‘ (a well-deserved but bizarre win since it wasn’t Chbosky’s first feature) and the Best First Screenplay trophy went to Derek Connolly for his wonderful script for ‘Safety Not Guaranteed.’ ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild‘ took home Best Cinematography and ‘The Invisible War’ won Best Documentary.

You can peruse the full list of winners below.

Best Feature

‘Silver Linings Playbook’

Best Director
David O. Russell, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’

Best Screenplay
David O. Russell, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’

Best First Feature
Stephen Chbosky, ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’

Best First Screenplay
Derek Connolly, ‘Safety Not Guaranteed’

John Cassavetes Award
Ava DuVernay, ‘Middle of Nowhere’

Best Female Lead
Jennifer Lawrence, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’

Best Male Lead
John Hawkes, ‘The Sessions’

Best Supporting Female
Helen Hunt, ‘The Sessions’

Best Supporting Male
Matthew McConaughey, ‘Magic Mike’

Best Cinematography
Ben Richardson, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’

Best Documentary
‘The Invisible War’

Best International Film

Robert Altman Award
Starlet, Sean Baker

Piaget Producers Award
Stones in the Sun, Mynette Louie

Someone to Watch Award
Gimme the Loot, Adam Leon

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
The Waiting Room, Peter Nicks

Jameson Find Your Audience Award
Breakfast With Curtis, Laura Colella

Best of 95.3 the Bear

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Bear VIP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Bear VIP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.